Fonds de Compensation RESPONSIBLE INVESTMENT

As an institutional fund manager, FDC is aware of its ecological, social and good governance responsibilities. In 2010, FDC integrated a responsible investor policy. Since then, FDC's responsible investor policy has been evolving.

Principles

FDC invests long-term and globally and is therefore committed to a healthy and sustainable economy. As an institutional fund manager, FDC is aware of its ecological, social and good governance responsibilities. Such considerations are taken into account in FDC’s investment strategy as well as in its investment decisions.

While the consideration of sustainable criteria has gained considerable momentum especially in recent years, FDC started formalising a responsible investor policy as early as 2010. At the beginning of 2011, the Board of Directors decided to set up and implement an exclusion list based on international conventions ratified by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and covering the areas of environment as well as institutional, social and joint responsibility. In addition to the restrictions imposed by the legal provisions and international conventions in force, FDC considers thematic or sectoral exclusions require a change in the legal framework applicable to the FDC.

At the same time, FDC has proactively started to pay more attention to sustainable criteria and aspects in its public tenders for mandating external fund managers. In 2012 the first mandate with an investment approach based exclusively on ESG criteria was awarded. Since then, FDC's responsible investor policy has continuously evolved and deepened.

At the end of 2019, the Board of Directors took the initiative to prepare a dedicated report detailing the scope, various aspects and implementation of FDC's responsible investor policy.

The Paris Agreement on climate change, the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development of the United Nations or the 2030 Climate and Energy Policy Framework of the European Commission include environmental and social targets as well as objectives that will have an impact on the entire financial sector. Aware of the importance of these issues and in line with its fiduciary duty, the given report also included a detailed climate analysis of FDC’s portfolios.

With the first sustainable investor report published in 2020, FDC aimed to provide a transparent inventory and to publicly confirm its commitment as a responsible investor. During 2021 and on the basis of this report, FDC has completed its responsible investor policy by launching a specific indexed sub-fund aligned with the Paris Agreement among other measures. It was also decided to publish the carbon footprint of its portfolio on an annual basis. Furthermore, FDC will publish, on a three-year basis and starting with the data as of 31st December 2023, its transition trajectory in order to assess its compatibility with the Paris Agreement.

In 2022, FDC thus published its Sustainable Investor Factsheet 2021. This report is the first annual report showing FDC’s carbon footprint, while highlighting the key elements of its responsible investor policy in relation to the year 2021.

Conscious of the constant evolvement of responsible investing, FDC will continuously monitor developments in the field of sustainability and adapt its responsible investor policy as necessary.

The pillars of FDC's responsible investor policy

Implementation of an exclusion list

Since 2011, FDC has ensured that all its investments through its SICAV comply with international conventions. More precisely, the integration of such a principle is actually implemented through a normative exclusion of companies that do not comply with international standards as enshrined in the ten principles of the United Nations Global Compact covering human rights, the environment, international labour standards and the fight against corruption. Equally excluded are companies involved in activities related to controversial weapons.

In addition to the excluded non-compliant companies, some companies are under observation. This status is in principle granted to companies for which investigations are not yet completed or for which engagement is still ongoing in order to put an end to the litigious facts. Depending on the progress of these investigations and discussions, these companies can be classified as either compliant or non-compliant. Thus, with its financial weight, FDC supports an engagement process led by its screening service provider with the aim to change the policy and governance mode of the companies in question. Almost 180 companies are currently under observation.

Consideration of sustainable aspects and criteria

The assets invested through the SICAV are managed by professional fund managers approved and duly appointed by FDC. Since 2011, the questionnaire for the selection of fund managers includes detailed questions on sustainable aspects and criteria taken into account by the tendering companies, particularly in relation to their investment process and asset allocation. This aspect has been strengthened over time so that from 2017 onwards, each tendering company participating in a tender for actively managed mandates is obliged to integrate a sustainable approach into the investment strategy proposed to FDC. As a result, all FDC’s fund managers have engagement policies in place, participate in various initiatives and are members of various organisations that promote, among others, sustainability and/or the transition to a low-carbon economy, are all signatories to the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment and strive to align with the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations.

Although the specifically implemented sustainable approaches may vary, FDC endeavours to implement overarching criteria such as the LuxFLAG label eligibility criteria as well as the article 8 or 9 classification criteria of the SFDR regulation. In this way, the fund managers’ sustainable approaches are monitored and audited.

Currently, twelve ESG or Environment labels have been awarded by the labelling agency LuxFLAG. With regard to the SFDR regulation, eleven sustainable approaches are article 8 compliant, meaning that they promote environmental and/or social characteristics as well as good governance practices. Furthermore, three sustainable approaches are article 9 compliant, meaning that they have sustainable investment as their objective.

Dedicated positive impact investments

FDC makes dedicated positive impact investments in various forms. Dedicated sub-funds were created within the SICAV to invest in green bonds as well as in shares of companies that intend to generate environmental or social impact, in addition to financial returns. At the end of 2021, nearly 685 million euros were invested in these sub-funds. In this way, FDC contributes, for example, to the treatment and saving of water, the generation of renewable energy, the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and the recycling and management of waste.

Through its stakes in the National Low-Cost Housing Administration and specific real estate acquisitions, FDC supports affordable housing.

As the owner of almost 700 hectares of forest labelled PEFC, FDC contributes to the absorption of CO2 emissions, among other things.

High energy and environmental performance standards

With regard to FDC’s direct real estate, high standards in terms of energy efficiency and sustainability are targeted and ensured in particular through high level BREEAM labels.

Climate analyses and inherent risk monitoring

On an individual basis, detailed analysis and assessment of climate risks are carried out by FDC's fund managers. The management of these risks forms an integral part of their investment process. At the same time, the use of external service providers or tools allows FDC to have a more consolidated and independent view of climate risks and appropriate means to monitor and assess them. In addition, an alignment to a global warming limited to 2°C can thus be analysed.

FDC's responsible investor report 2020 shows the results of the latest climate analyses done by the FDC.

Last update

Fonds de Compensation INVESTISSEMENT RESPONSABLE

En tant qu’administrateur institutionnel d’actifs, le FDC est conscient de sa responsabilité écologique, sociale et de bonne gouvernance. Depuis 2010, le FDC intègre ainsi une politique d'investisseur responsable. La pertinence de ladite politique a régulièrement été réexaminée et son envergure n’a cessé de croître.

Généralités

Le FDC investit à long terme à l'échelle mondiale et favorise une économie saine et durable. En tant qu’administrateur institutionnel d’actifs, le FDC est conscient de sa responsabilité écologique, sociale et de bonne gouvernance. Ces considérations sont prises en compte dans sa stratégie d'investissement ainsi que dans ses décisions d'investissement.

Le FDC a commencé dès 2010 à formaliser une politique d’investisseur responsable. Ainsi, l'établissement et la mise en œuvre d'une liste d'exclusion, basée sur les conventions internationales ratifiées par le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et couvrant les domaines de l’environnement et de la responsabilité institutionnelle, sociale et solidaire, ont été décidés début 2011. Au-delà des restrictions imposées par les dispositions légales et les conventions internationales en vigueur, des exclusions thématiques ou sectorielles nécessitent, selon le FDC, une modification du cadre légal.

Parallèlement, le FDC, dans une démarche volontariste, a commencé à porter plus d’importance aux critères et aspects durables dans ses appels d'offres visant la sélection de gérants de portefeuille externes. Un premier mandat avec une approche d’investissement exclusivement basée sur des critères ESG a été accordé en 2012. Depuis, la politique d’investisseur responsable du FDC n’a cessé d’évoluer et de prendre de l’ampleur.

Fin 2019, le conseil d'administration a pris l’initiative d'exposer en détail l’envergure, les différents aspects ainsi que la mise en œuvre de sa politique d’investisseur responsable dans un rapport dédié.

L’accord de Paris sur le changement climatique, le programme de développement durable des Nations Unies à l’horizon 2030 ou encore le cadre d’action en matière de climat et d’énergie à l’horizon 2030 de la Commission européenne prévoient des cibles et objectifs environnementaux et sociaux qui impacteront le secteur financier dans son ensemble. Convaincu de l'importance de ces enjeux et dans le respect de son obligation fiduciaire, ledit rapport a également contenu une analyse climatique des portefeuilles du FDC.

Via son premier rapport d’investisseur responsable, publié fin 2020, le FCD s’est appliqué à dresser en toute transparence un inventaire et à rendre publiquement compte de son engagement d’investisseur responsable. Conscient que l'investissement responsable est en évolution constante, le FDC suivra en permanence les développements dans le domaine de la durabilité et adaptera sa politique d’investisseur responsable en conséquence.

Les piliers de la politique d'investisseur responsable du FDC

Mise en pratique d'une liste d'exclusion

Depuis 2011, une liste d’exclusion assure que les investissements du FDC via sa SICAV sont conformes aux normes internationales. Les dix principes du Pacte mondial des Nations Unies couvrant les droits de l’homme, l'environnement, les normes internationales de travail ainsi que la lutte contre la corruption sont à la base de cette liste. Sont également exclues les sociétés impliquées dans des activités liées aux armes controversées.

A côté des entreprises non conformes exclues, certaines entreprises sont sous observation. Ce statut est en principe attribué aux sociétés pour lesquelles les investigations ne sont pas encore achevées ou pour lesquelles des pourparlers sont encore menés pour faire cesser les faits litigieux. C'est en fonction de l'évolution de ces investigations et pourparlers que lesdites entreprises peuvent être classées soit conformes, soit non conformes. Le FDC soutient ainsi avec son poids financier une procédure d'engagement menée par son prestataire de screening en vue de faire modifier la politique et le mode de gouvernance des entreprises en cause. Actuellement, presque 180 sociétés sont sous observation.

Prise en compte d'aspects et critères durables

Les actifs placés par l'intermédiaire de la SICAV sont gérés par des gérants de portefeuille professionnels agréés et dûment mandatés par le FDC. Depuis 2011, le questionnaire de sélection des gérants de portefeuille comprend des questions détaillées sur les aspects et critères durables pris en considération par les sociétés soumissionnaires, notamment au niveau de leur processus d’investissement et leur allocation d’actifs. Cet aspect a été renforcé au fil du temps de sorte qu'à partir de 2017, chaque société soumissionnaire participant à un appel d'offres visant un mandat à gestion active doit intégrer une approche durable dans la stratégie d'investissement proposée au FDC. De sorte, les gérants de portefeuille du FDC ont tous des politiques d’engagement et participent à diverses initiatives respectivement sont membres de différentes organisations ayant par exemple pour but de promouvoir la prise en compte d’aspects durables et/ou la transition vers une économie bas carbone. En complément, ils sont tous signataires des Principes pour l’investissement responsable des Nations Unies et s’efforcent de s’aligner aux 17 objectifs de développement durable de cette même organisation.

Bien que les approches durables spécifiquement mises en œuvre par les gérants de portefeuille du FDC peuvent varier, la FDC s'efforce de mettre en place des critères généraux tels que les critères d'éligibilité du label LuxFLAG ainsi que les critères de classification du règlement dit SFDR. Les approches durables mises en pratique par les gérants de portefeuille de mandats à gestion active sont ainsi surveillées et auditées.

Actuellement, douze certifications "ESG" ou "Environment" ont été décernées par l’agence de certification LuxFLAG. Ces certifications représentent presque 87% des actifs en valeurs mobilières gérés de manière active au sein de la SICAV du FDC à fin septembre 2021. En termes de règlement SFDR, onze approches durables sont conformes à son article 8, c'est-à-dire promeuvent des caractéristiques environnementales et/ou sociales ainsi que des pratiques de bonne gouvernance. Finalement, trois approches durables sont conformes à son article 9, soit poursuivent un objectif d’investissement durable.  

Investissements à impact positif dédiés

Le FDC réalise des investissements à impact positif dédiés sous différentes formes. Des compartiments spécifiques ont été créés au sein de la SICAV afin d’investir dans des obligations vertes ainsi que dans des actions de sociétés ayant l’intention de générer, à côté d’un rendement financier, un impact environnemental ou social. A fin 2021, presque 685 millions d’euros étaient investis dans ces compartiments. De sorte, le FDC contribue par exemple au traitement et à l’économie d’eau, à la génération d’énergie renouvelable, à la réduction d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre ainsi qu’au recyclage et la gestion des déchets.

Par le biais de ses participations au sein de la Société nationale des habitations à bon marché et d’acquisitions immobilières spécifiques, le FDC soutient la mise au marché d’habitations à coût modéré.

En tant que propriétaire forestier de presque 700 hectares de forêt certifiée "PEFC", le FDC contribue entre autres à absorber des émissions de dioxyde de carbone.

Hauts standards énergétiques et environnementaux

Au niveau de l’immobilier direct détenu par le FDC, des hauts standards en termes de performance énergétique et de durabilité sont visés et notamment assurés par le biais de certifications "BREEAM" de haut niveau.

Analyses climatiques et suivi des risques relatifs

L’analyse et l’évaluation détaillées des risques climatiques est assurée, au niveau individuel, par les gérants de portefeuille du FDC. La gestion de ces risques forme une partie intégrante de leur processus d’investissement. En parallèle, le recours à des prestataires de service ou des outils externes permet au FDC d’avoir une vue plus consolidée et indépendante des risques climatiques et de disposer de moyens pour les surveiller et apprécier. En outre, un alignement à un réchauffement climatique limité à 2°C peut ainsi être examiné.

Le rapport d'investisseur responsable 2020 du FDC fait état des dernières analyses climatiques du FDC.

Dernière modification le