Fonds de Compensation ABOUT

FDC’s legal mission is to manage the compensation reserve of the general pension insurance scheme and to achieve an effective return while diversifying risks. FDC’s creation was thus initiated in the context of allowing the compensation reserve benefit from financial market movements.

Mission

FDC was established by the amended law of 6 May 2004 on the administration of the assets of the general pension insurance scheme. Its mission is to prudentially manage the compensation reserve of the general pension insurance scheme and to achieve an effective return while diversifying risks. In this way, article 248 of the Social Security Code provides that:

The compensation reserve is invested in order to ensure the long-term viability of the general pension insurance scheme. To ensure the security of investments, all the assets and liabilities, the financial situation as well as the structure and foreseeable evolution of the pension scheme shall be taken into account. Investments shall comply with the principles of appropriate risk diversification. To this end, the assets must be spread across different investment classes as well as different economic and geographical sectors.

As such, FDC’s creation was initiated in the context of allowing the compensation reserve benefit from financial market movements by diversifying the assets in a portfolio that takes into account strict risk and return criteria.

As a public institution, FDC is subject to the supervision of the Minister of Social Security which is exercised by the General Inspectorate of Social Security.

As part of its mission and in accordance with the amended law of 13 February 2007 on specialised investment funds, FDC created a collective investment scheme in the form of an open-ended investment company with legal status of a public limited company in 2007. This company, entitled Fonds de Compensation de la Sécurité Sociale, SICAV-FIS and subject to the supervision of the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier, has since then been FDC’s investment vehicle. A large part of the compensation reserve entrusted to FDC is invested through the SICAV, knowing that a Grand-Ducal regulation imposes limits to the values of the compensation reserve that might be invested through collective investment undertakings.

General pension insurance scheme and compensation reserve

The basis of the Luxembourg pension system is the general pension insurance scheme covering the private sector. This scheme is compulsory for everyone working in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. The National Pension Insurance Fund is responsible for the management of the pension insurance under the general scheme. The general scheme is based on a pure pay-as-you-go system (i.e. pension contributions paid by the working population are used to finance pension benefits paid to pensioners) on the basis of ten-year coverage periods and with a compulsory creation of a compensation reserve equivalent to 1.5 times the annual pension liabilities.

The fact that the global contribution rate, which is currently set at 24% and is split equally between employees, employers and the State, and which has regularly exceeded the overall distribution rate in the past (i.e. the ratio of current expenditures to total contribution income derived from pensionable wages, salaries and revenues) has enabled the general scheme to generate substantial financial surpluses and to build up a reserve well in excess of the amount required by law.

 

The compensation reserve is neither an actuarial reserve to cover benefits due nor an actuarial reserve to cover any expectations of the insured. The purpose of this reserve is exclusively to mitigate external disruptions in terms of contribution income or liabilities which, in a pure pay-as-you-go system, can lead to sudden changes in the contribution rate.

Moreover, this reserve can only contribute to a limited extend to the financing of future pension liabilities given the characteristics of the general scheme, such as the adaptation of pension benefits to the cost of living index and the real level of wages or a risk community open to future generations. In fact, the return on the reserve will have to be used primarily to adjust it to the rising level of pension benefits and the increase in the number of insured persons in order to maintain its relative level and will therefore hardly allow the global contribution rate to be reduced below the global distribution rate.

Last update

FONDS DE COMPENSATION À PROPOS

Le FDC a pour mission de gérer la réserve de compensation du régime général de pension et d'en tirer un rendement effectif tout en diversifiant les risques. La constitution du FDC s'est ainsi inscrite dans une perspective de faire bénéficier la réserve de compensation de l'évolution des marchés financiers.

La mission du FDC

Institué par la loi modifiée du 6 mai 2004 concernant l’administration du patrimoine du régime général de pension, le FDC a pour mission de gérer de manière prudentielle la réserve de compensation du régime général de pension et d’en tirer un rendement effectif tout en diversifiant les risques. Ainsi, l'article 248 du Code de la sécurité sociale dispose que:

La réserve de compensation est placée dans le but de garantir la pérennité du régime général de pension. Afin d’assurer la sécurité des placements il est tenu compte de la totalité des actifs et des passifs, de la situation financière, ainsi que de la structure et de l’évolution prévisible du régime. Les placements doivent respecter les principes d’une diversification appropriée des risques. A cette fin, les disponibilités doivent être réparties entre différentes catégories de placement ainsi qu’entre plusieurs secteurs économiques et géographiques.

La constitution du FDC en 2004 s'est donc inscrite dans une perspective de faire bénéficier la réserve de compensation de l’évolution des marchés financiers en diversifiant les actifs dans un portefeuille tenant à la fois compte de critères stricts de risque et de rendement.

En tant qu’établissement public, le FDC est soumis à la haute surveillance du ministre de la Sécurité sociale laquelle s’exerce par l’Inspection générale de la sécurité sociale.

Dans le cadre de sa mission, le FDC a créé en 2007 un organisme de placement collectif sous la forme d’une société d’investissement à capital variable conforme à la loi modifiée du 13 février 2007 relative aux fonds d’investissement spécialisés et revêtant le statut juridique d'une société anonyme. Cette société, dénommée "Fonds de Compensation de la Sécurité Sociale, SICAV-FIS" et soumise au contrôle de la Commission de surveillance du secteur financier, constitue dès lors le véhicule d’investissement du FDC. Une large partie de la réserve de compensation confiée au FDC est investi via la SICAV sachant qu’un règlement grand-ducal impose des limites au niveau des valeurs de la réserve de compensation pouvant être investies par le biais d’organismes de placement collectif.

Le régime général de pension et la réserve de compensation

Le fondement du système de pension luxembourgeois est le régime général d’assurance pension lequel couvre le secteur privé et est obligatoire pour toute personne exerçant une activité professionnelle au sein du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. La gestion de l'assurance pension dans le régime général incombe à la Caisse nationale d'assurance pension. Le régime général repose sur le principe de la répartition pure selon lequel les cotisations de pension payées par la population active sont utilisées pour financer les prestations de pension payées aux retraités, ceci par période de couverture de dix ans avec constitution obligatoire d’une réserve de compensation équivalent à 1,5 fois le montant des prestations annuelles.

La fait que le taux de cotisation global, fixé actuellement à 24% et réparti équitablement entre assurés, employeurs et l'Etat, a dans le passé régulièrement dépassé la prime de répartition pure, c.-à-d. le rapport entre les dépenses courantes et la totalité des salaires, traitements et revenus cotisables à la base des recettes en cotisations, a permis au régime général de dégager d’importants excédents financiers et de constituer une réserve dépassant largement le montant légalement requis.

La réserve de compensation ne constitue ni un capital de couverture de prestations échues ni, à fortiori, un capital de couverture d’éventuelles expectatives des assurés. La finalité de cette réserve réside exclusivement dans sa faculté d’atténuer des perturbations externes soit au niveau des recettes en cotisations, soit au niveau des dépenses qui, dans un système de répartition pure, peuvent conduire à des variations brusques du taux de cotisation.

D’ailleurs, compte tenu des caractéristiques du régime général, comme par exemple l’adaptation des pensions à l’indice du coût de la vie et au niveau réel des salaires ou encore une communauté de risque ouverte aux générations futures, cette réserve ne pourra que marginalement contribuer au financement des pensions à l’avenir. En effet, le rendement de la réserve devra être affecté prioritairement à l’adaptation de celle-ci au niveau croissant des prestations et à l’augmentation de la population assurée afin de maintenir son niveau relatif et ne permettra donc guère une réduction du taux de cotisation global en dessous de la prime de répartition pure.

Dernière modification le